Can two people edit the same libguides page at the same time on separate computer terminals?
LibGuides doesn't contain any restrictions on the number of people (or accounts) that can edit a page at one time. This can be useful if you're collaborating with colleagues on editing content, but could also result in losing work, so caution is recommended!
Who's content ends up being saved depends on the content, and the level of change. For example:
- If 2 people edit the content inside a box at the same time, the last click on "Save Changes" will be saved
- If 1 person edits a content box, and another person deletes that box while person 1 is still editing, the box will be deleted
- If 1 person edits a page in a guide, and another person edits another page, both of their changes will be saved (the changes don't directly overlap)
If you're planning to do a lot of co-editing, keep in mind:
- Communication is key! Many institutions use a "hidden" page in collaborative guides to communicate internally about who's working on a guide, and what changes they're making
- An ounce of prevention goes a long way - you can take precautions to make sure you're looking at the most current version of a guide:
- Check your Cache Settings to make sure they're up to date (particularly on shared workstations)
- Don't leave the editor window open on your computer for extended periods of time - if you're walking away, close your browser window