If I accidentally delete a guide, is there any way to restore it? Does Springshare back-up guides?
Is the guide still there, just blank?
If you can still get to the guide, but you don't see any content, there may be just be a stray HTML tag somewhere! Believe it or not, one little bitty tag can make it look like your whole guide guide has disappeared.
If this sounds like you, just email us at email@example.com. We're happy to take a look and see if your content is hiding somewhere! If it's not there, we can send you a recent back-up.
Did you nuke your guide from space?
We can still help! If your guide was deleted in the last couple of days, we can send you an HTML back-up of your guide.
So what do I do with the back-up?
Currently, there's no way to restore your guide - the HTML back-up tells you what was in your guide, but you will still need to recreate the content. We are working on a full restore utility, and we'll make sure to update this FAQ as soon as that functionality is available!
Lots of copies keeps stuff safe - create your own back-ups!
If your library subscribes to the Images & Back-up Module, you can create HTML back-ups of your guides. This can be really handy - if you're about to make major changes to a guide, it's useful to have that "snapshot" for archival purposes. If you accidentally delete a box or a page on your guide, you can quickly rebuild it using data from your local backup.
To create a local html backup, head to the command bar in the guide you'd like to backup and select Guide Settings > Create Backup: