Skip to Questions

Guide FAQ - Your LibGuides v1 Questions. Answered!

Q

How do I collaborate with a colleague on a guide?

Last Updated: Oct 30, 2013  |  2409 Views

Was this helpful? 0   0
A

Answer

There are a few different ways you can collaborate with your colleagues on a guide. In a nutshell:

  • Co-owner: can add or delete anything in the guide; can publish guide; profile appears on guide
  • Editor: can add or delete anything in the guide; can't publish guide; profile does not appear on guide
  • Collaborator: best for people who don't already have a LibGuides account in your site; can't reuse content

(Note: A LibGuides administrator can already edit and delete any guide in the system!)

For more information, check out our help guide on editor levels!


Once you've decided the appropriate role for your colleague, adding him or her is easy!

  1. Go to Guide Settings > Co-owners, Editors & Collaborators
  2. Select your colleague's name from the drop-down box and click Add. If you're adding a collaborator, add the person's email address in the space provided. You can add multiple co-owners, editors, and collaborators to each guide.
  3. When you're done adding co-owners, editors, and collaborators, click Close.

To remove a co-owner, editor or collaborator:

  1. Go to Guide Settings > Co-owners, Editors & Collaborators
  2. Click the red X () next to the co-owner, editor, or collaborator's name.

    (Note: You will not be able to remove yourself as a co-owner or editor unless you also have an administrator-level account.)

  3. When you're done removing co-owners, editors, and collaborators, click Close.
Answered by Anna BurkeBookmark and Share

Other Answers / Comments (0)

    Need Help?

    This site is shutting down by, if not before, March 31, 2018.

    LibGuides v1 servers are also shutting down at that time.

    See LibGuides v2 documentation instead.


    Support:

    Follow LibGuidesFAQ on Twitter Follow us on Twitter!